Contest Winners

 

Announcing The Antigonish Review's Contest Winners

2016

16th Great Blue Heron Poetry Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Laisha Rosnau,
Coldstream, BC

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Branka Petrovic,
Montreal, QC

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Sean Howard,
Main-a-Dieu, NS


 

12th Sheldon Currie Fiction Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Traci Skuce, 
Cumberland, BC

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Robert James Hicks,
Victoria, BC

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

A.M. Lang,
Scarborough, ON

Above are the winners of this years contests! The authors' names on the submissions were masked so the judges could not identify them. We expect the winning manuscripts will be published in issue #187 (Autumn 2016) of The Antigonish Review. Our judges this year were - Poetry: Kim Trainor and Peter Sanger; Fiction: Spencer Gordon, Trevor Cole and Andrew Sullivan - with the final judge being Larry Mathews. 

We'd like to congratulate all of our winners and thank everyone who entered! 

2015

15th Great Blue Heron Poetry Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Adrienne Gruber,
Vancouver, BC

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

gillian harding-russell,
Regin, SK

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Rhonda Collis,
Cobble Hill, BC


 

11th Sheldon Currie Fiction Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

David Huebert, 
London, ON

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

John S. Taylor,
Victoria, BC

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Gord Grisenthwaite,
Kelowna, BC

This year, there were a combined total of 219 entries. The writers' names were masked so the judges could not identify the authors. We expect the winning manuscripts will be published in issue 183 (Autumn 2015) of The Antigonish Review. Our judges were - Poetry: Patricia Young and Peter Sanger; Fiction: Stephanie Domet, Chris Benjamin, Ed Kavanagh, and Darryl Whetter - with the final judge being Sheldon Currie. 

We'd like to congratulate all of our winners and thank everyone who entered! 

2014

14th Great Blue Heron Poetry Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Harold Hoefle,
St-Anne-de-Bellevue, QC

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Michael Prior,
Toronto, ON

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Joanna Lilley,
Whitehorse, YT


 

10th Sheldon Currie Fiction Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Jen Julian, 
Columbia, MO

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

John O'Neill,
Toronto, ON

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Ryan Frawley
Edmonton, AB

This year, there were a combined total of 151 entries. The writers' names were masked so the judges could not identify the authors. We expect the winning manuscripts will be published in issue 179 (Autumn 2014) of The Antigonish Review. Our judges were - Poetry: Patricia Young and Peter Sanger; Fiction: Joan Baril, Reynold Stone, Gwen Davies and Heather Debling - with the final judge being Sheree Fitch. 

We'd like to congratulate all of our winners and thank everyone who entered!

2013

13th Great Blue Heron Poetry Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Patricia Young,
Victoria, BC

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

B.L. Gentry,
Pryor, OK

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Sean Howard,
Main-a-Dieu, NS



9th Sheldon Currie Fiction Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Gwen Davies, 
Halifax, NS

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Heather Debling,
Stratford, ON

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Joan Baril,
Thunder Bay, ON

This year, there were a combined total of 235 entries. The writers' names were masked so the judges could not identify the authors. We expect the winning manuscripts will be published in issue 175 (Autumn 2013) of The Antigonish Review. Our judges were - Poetry: Jan Conn and Peter Sanger; Fiction: Anne Simpson, Gerald Trites, Reynold Stone, and Andy Stubbs - with the final judge being Michelle Berry. 

We'd like to send out a hearty Congratulations to all of our winners!

2012

12th Great Blue Heron Poetry Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Charles P.R. Tisdale,
Reidsville, NC

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Kim Trainor,
Vancouver, BC

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Laura Legge,
Toronto, ON



8th Sheldon Currie Fiction Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Judy LeBlanc, 
Fanny Bay, BC

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Fred Annesley,
Toronto, ON

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Joan Baril,
Thunder Bay, ON

The decisions for these contests were difficult to make. There were a combined total of 316 contestants this year. The writers' names were masked so the judges could not identify the authors. We expect the winning manuscripts will be published in issue 172 (Winter 2013) of The Antigonish Review. Our judges were - Poetry: Jan Conn and Peter Sanger; Fiction: Gerald Trites, Reynold Stone, Andy Stubbs, Leo Furey and Veronica Ross.

We'd like to send out a hearty Congratulations to all of our winners!

2011

11th Great Blue Heron Poetry Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Patricia Young,
Victoria, BC

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Terry Ann carter,
Ottawa, ON

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Peter Richardson,
Gatineau, QC



7th Sheldon Currie Fiction Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Mary di Michele, 
Montreal, QC

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Elena Vardon,
Toronto, ON

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Andrea J. Turner,
Orinda, CA

The decisions for these contests were difficult to make. There were a combined total of 339 contestants this year. The writers' names were masked so the judges could not identify the authors. We expect the winning manuscripts will be published in issue 167 (Autumn 2011) of The Antigonish Review. Our judges were - Poetry: Jennifer Houle and Peter Sanger; Fiction: Richard Cumyn, Gerald Trites, Marianne Paul, Darryl Whetter, Cory Rushton and Reynold Stone.

2010

10th Great Blue Heron Poetry Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Moez Surani,
Thornhill, ON

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Margaret Slavin Dyment,
Peterborough, ON

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Patricia Young,
Victoria, BC



6th Sheldon Currie Fiction Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Amber Hayward, 
Hinton, AB

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Ben Hart,
Vancouver, BC

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Peter S. Lee,
Yarmouth, ME

The decisions for these contests were difficult to make. There were a combined total of 341 contestants this year. The writers' names were masked so the judges could not identify the authors. We expect the winning manuscripts will be published in issue 163 (Autumn 2010) of The Antigonish Review.

Prizes: $600 first prize & publication 
$400 second prize & publication 
$200 third prize & publication

2009

9th Great Blue Heron Poetry Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Jennifer Houle,
Fredericton, NB

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Eve Joseph,
Brentwood Bay, BC

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Eleonore Schönmaier,
Ketch Harbour, NS



5th Sheldon Currie Fiction Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Sheila McClarty, 
Dugald, MB

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Laura Rock,
Lakefield, ON

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Ian Bullock,
Vancouver, BC

The decisions for these contests were difficult to make. There were a combined total of 373 contestants this year. The writers' names were masked so the judges could not identify the authors. We expect the winning manuscripts will be published in issue #159 (Autumn 2009) of The Antigonish Review.

Prizes: $600 first prize & publication 
$400 second prize & publication 
$200 third prize & publication

2008

8th Great Blue Heron Poetry Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Anita Lahey,
Montreal, QC

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Christine Wiesenthal,
Edmonton, AB

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

K.V. Skene,
Oxford, UK



4th Sheldon Currie Fiction Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Andrea Marcusa, 
New York, NY

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Beverly Akerman,
Montreal, QC

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Andrea Cameron,
Brockville, ON

The decisions for these contests were difficult to make. There were a combined total of 323 contestants this year. The writers' names were masked so the judges could not identify the authors. We expect the winning manuscripts will be published in issue #155 (Autumn 2008) of The Antigonish Review.

Prizes: $600 first prize & publication 
$400 second prize & publication 
$200 third prize & publication

2007

7th Great Blue Heron Poetry Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Daryl Sneath,
Port Perry, ON

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Eve Joseph,
Brentwood Bay, BC

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Heidi Garnett,
Kelowna, BC



3rd Sheldon Currie Fiction Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Shellie Troy Anderson 
Vancouver, BC

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Bob Bossin,
Gabriola, BC

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Trudy J. Morgan-Cole,
St. John's, NL

The decisions for these contests were difficult to make. There were a combined total of 403 contestants this year. The writers' names were masked so the judges could not identify the authors. We expect the winning manuscripts will be published in issue #151 (Autumn 2007) of The Antigonish Review.

Prizes: $600 first prize & publication 
$400 second prize & publication 
$200 third prize & publication

2006

6th Great Blue Heron Poetry Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Ron Stewart,
Komoka, Ontario

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Gillian Savigny,
Montreal, Quebec

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Katherine A. Case,
Berkeley, California



2nd Sheldon Currie Fiction Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Alix Bemrose,
Toronto, Ontario

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Mark Rogers,
Toronto, Ontario

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Margret Bollerup,
Maple Ridge, British Columbia

The decisions were difficult to make. There were a combined total of 395 contestants this year. The writers' names were masked so the judges could not identify the authors. We expect the winning manuscripts to be published in issue #147 (Autumn 2006) of The Antigonish Review.

Prizes: $600 first prize & publication 
$400 second prize & publication 
$200 third prize & publication

2005

5th Great Blue Heron Poetry Contests

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Linda L. Dove,
Skull Valley, Arizona

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Nikolijne Troubetzkoy,
Toronto, Ontario

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Sachiko Murakami,
Montreal, Quebec

HONOURABLE MENTION

Shannon Stewart,
West Vancouver, British Columbia



1st Sheldon Currie Fiction Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Nicholas Ruddock,
Guelph, Ontario

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Eleonore Schönmaier,
Ketch Harbour, Nova Scotia

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Leslie Vryenhoek,
Winnipeg, Manitoba

The decisions were difficult to make. There were a combined total of 470 contestants this year. The writers' names were masked so the judges could not identify the authors. We expect the winning manuscripts to be published in issue #143 (Autumn 2005) of The Antigonish Review.

Prizes: $600 first prize & publication 
$400 second prize & publication 
$200 third prize & publication
Honourable Mention - publication

2004

FIRST PRIZE

($800.00)

Anita Lahey,
Ottawa, Ontario

SECOND PRIZE

($500.00)

David Hickey,
Fredericton, New Brunswick

THIRD PRIZE

($300.00)

Kate Hall,
Montreal, Quebec

The decisions were difficult to make. There were nearly 350 contestants. The poets' names were masked so the judges could not identify the authors. We expect the winning poems to be published in issue #139 (Autumn 2004) ofThe Antigonish Review.

Prizes: $800 first prize & publication 
$500 second prize & publication 
$300 third prize & publication

2003

FIRST PRIZE

($800.00)

Stephanie Bolster
Pointe Claire, Quebec

SECOND PRIZE

($500.00)

Catherine Greenwood
Victoria, BC

THIRD PRIZE

($300.00)

Michael Trussler
Regina, Saskatchewan

The decisions were difficult to make. There were nearly 400 contestants. The poets' names were masked so the judges could not identify the authors. We expect to publish the winning poetry in issue #135 (Autumn, 2003).

Prizes: $800 first prize & publication 
$500 second prize & publication 
$300 third prize & publication

2002

FIRST PRIZE

($800.00)

Mitchell Parry
Victoria, British Columbia

SECOND PRIZE

($500.00)

Lori Maleea Acker
Hines Creek, Alberta

THIRD PRIZE (A Tie)

($150.00) 
($150.00)

Brad Buie, Victoria, British Columbia
Nicholas Ruddock, Guelph, Ontario

HONORABLE MENTION:

Rebecca Campbell
Cobble Hill, British Columbia

The decisions were difficult to make. There were nearly 400 contestants. The poets' names were masked so the judges could not identify the authors. The winning poems have been published in issue #131 (Autumn, 2002).

Prizes: $800 first prize & publication 
$500 second prize & publication 
$300 third prize & publication

2001

FIRST PRIZE ($500.00) Karin Cope,
Port Dufferin, Nova Scotia
SECOND PRIZE ($300.00) Anna King
Surrey, British Columbia
THIRD PRIZE ($200.00) Heather Cadsby
Etobicoke, Ontario
HONORABLE MENTION: Mitchell Parry, Victoria, British Columbia
Clea Young, Victoria, British Columbia

The decisions were not easy. There were nearly 150 contestants who sent, on average, five or six poems. The poets' names were masked so the judges could not identify the authors.

The text of the first, second and third prize-winning poems have been published inour issue #127.


For full contest details, guidelines and queries, contact: 
Phone (902) 867-3962 or tar@stfx.ca.